The Security Council

The Security Council is the United Nations’ most powerful organ. Its primary responsibility is the protection of international peace and security. It is very powerful because it can interfere the right of sovereignty when this seems necessary to protection the peace and security of the international community. The legal basis of this right by the Security Council can be found in Chapter VII of the Chapter of the UN. The Council consists of five permanent member states (US, UK, Russia, China, France) and ten members states that are elected every two years.