International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia

The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, seated in The Hague, was established in 1993 by the United Nation Security Council. The Council was thereby following a report by a Commission of Experts which described grave breaches of the Geneva Conventions and other violations of international humanitarian law in the countries of the former Yugoslavia. This Tribunal was the first war crimes court established by the UN and the first international war crimes tribunal since the Nuremberg and Tokyo tribunals. The mandate of the ICTY is to bring to justice those responsible for serious violations of humanitarian law committed in the former Yugoslavia since 1991. On that note, the Tribunal has indicted 161 persons with ongoing procedures against 20 accused – 16 before the Appeals Chamber en 4 currently at trial. These last four include the so-called ‘big fish’ Goran Hadžić, Radovan Karadžić, Ratko Mladić, and Vojislav Šešelj.